Why I hate having to work with Visual Studio

The fact that the MS C++ compiler is one of the worse on the market is bad enough. Random crashes, lockups, and intellisense taking complete control while also providing next to no actual benefit…annoys me but I’m used to it. What really bothers me though is its tendency to enter the Twilight Zone.

Today reminded me of this fact yet again. For no apparent reason every editor area in the program (luckily only one instance) has begun to:

* Place the edit cursor wherever you put it whether or not there’s anything there (well past the end of lines in other words)
* Ignore arrows, backspace, delete, etc…
* Pop up some kind of window menu when I type ‘-‘.

This is the first time I’ve run into behavior this random, but I quite regularly run into a different kind of random craziness. Probably about 1-2 times a day one of the files I’m editing will randomly enter some strange mode where indentation doesn’t work and pressing ‘:’ puts you at the beginning of the line. Makes typing things out like “std::vector::iterator” more than a little annoying. Luckily simply closing the file and opening it again goes back into normal C++ mode from whatever insane mode it was previously in.

8 Responses to “Why I hate having to work with Visual Studio”

  1. Hi,
    ‘The fact that the MS C++ compiler is one of the worse on the market’
    I’m far away from sharing this point of view which sounds to me like an a-priori. MS 2008 and MS 2010 are compilers of high quality in windows OS, not only for the respect of the ISO but also considering code produced. And i just invite you to try using another debugger after having used this one.

    Visual Studio may contain more bugs and be more instable. Ok. That ‘s your user experience. Just try another I.D.E : code::blocks, eclipse CDT, netbeans, or notepad… They can be used (for some ones hardly, and for others trivialy) with Microsoft C++ compiler or with any other compiler you prefer.

    Just don’t make confusion between the compiler and with the IDE 😉

    • The MS compiler is better than versions past, this is true, but that’s not saying much; it is far from being particularly compliant with the standard. It’s implementation of templates for instance is still very sub-par even though it’s miles above previous versions. It still only does single-phase lookup for example.

      Previous versions of the compiler where just so terrible that the new one seems incredibly better. These days its good enough for most people who don’t make a lot of use of templates, but for those who do its still got a lot of serious problems. Even those who don’t, there’s still bugs regarding scoping rules for instance.

      You are right though in that the compiler is just as usable outside the IDE and I’m trying to convince my team that there’s better options that let us still use the compiler.

  2. some strange mode where indentation doesn’t work and pressing ‘:’ puts you at the beginning of the line.

    And I thought I was the only one with that weird behaviour! Thanks for showing me that I didn’t do something completely wrong. 🙂 It’s still very annoying, tho’. Any idea on what that’s based?

  3. Leviathan le Large Says:

    I just attempted to learn to use Visual Studios 2008 for work in c++. After my self-automated, easily customizable terminal, courtesy of IBM, I was left traumatized by my experience with Visual Studios. How in the hell do you learn to program on windows?! It will ruin you for learning to write code that can run on *any* other operating system. Getting it to compile simple ISO c++ is like trying to pull teeth!

    On top of this, it’s overbearing; “No, Visual Studio. Damn it, no!! I don’t want to use Visual C++; I want *my* source code to be usable on other operating systems, *in addition to*, not *exclusively on* windows.”

    If you want to build and sell programs that work exclusively on windows, then Visual Studios might be a dream come true. If you want to have cross-compilable code, Visual Studios is the Devil made binary.

  4. I feel completely mislead by the dotnet stuff. My c# project turned out to not be cross platform like promised, because mono is way behind. Not only that but, I can’t seem to get my program to run on other windows 7 boxes. I’m having all sorts of trouble with runtimes and dlls. Those dotnet fanatics that claim c# is the language to end all languages just piss me off even more now. Mostly because they are wrong. c# is just a java knockoff with even more closed source ideals.

Leave a Reply

